Call Us Today 819-685-3368 Or send us a Request

Mercury-free and Amalgam-free Dentistry

Mercury-free Dentistry

Aylmer Dentistry provides comprehensive mercury-free dentist services and amalgam-free dentistry. Restorative dentistry seeks to repair or replace your natural teeth in order to create a comfortable, functional and esthetic dentition. The restorative work can range from simple fillings, onlays and crowns to more complex root canal therapy and tooth replacement using implants. We can offer safe and reliable materials that are not composed of mercury to achieve a healthy smile no matter what stage of restorative care your teeth require.

An Amalgam filling or “silver filling” was once the best material available to repair decayed or damaged teeth. This type of filling material was used for well over 100 years and in most part with great success in aiding people to keep their teeth. Studies over the last few decades have raised concern about systemic health complications perhaps associated to the mercury in the amalgam fillings.

Modern dentistry has responded to these concerns by providing mercury-free dentistry materials that achieve the same success as its predecessor. Ceramic, zirconia, and composite materials have all been tested and proven to be safe, strong and esthetically pleasing restorative options. Commitment to research and development of dental products and materials continues to improve the quality of dentistry that we are able to offer to our patients.

A protocol has been implemented at Aylmer Dentistry which seeks to protect patients and dental staff when removing a dental amalgam. The protocol includes the following precautions:

  • Use of a dental dam and high volume suction during drilling
  • Abundant use of irrigation during drilling
  • Cutting the filling into sections instead of pulverizing it with the burr.
  • Thorough rinsing of the mouth and instruments after removal of the filling

For those very rare patients demonstrating a sensitivity to dental amalgam, we also consider the following precautions:

  • A complete medical
  • A specific dietary supplement
  • Use of an air ionizer and/or purifier in the operating room
  • Pure air source on the patient’s nose during drilling

These precautions are to minimize mercury vapour absorption by the patient during and after drilling. Our mercury-free dental procedures ensure that you receive the highest quality fillings available.

Appelez-nous dès aujourd’hui au 819-685-3368 ou envoyez-nous une Demande

Dentisterie sans amalgame

Dentisterie Aylmer offre un service de dentisterie complet sans mercure et sans amalgame. La dentisterie restauratrice vise à réparer ou à remplacer vos dents naturelles afin de créer une dentition confortable, fonctionnelle et esthétique. Le travail de restauration peut représenter un simple remplissage ou installation de facettes et couronnes à des procédures plus complexes telles que le traitement de canal et le remplacement de dents avec implants. Nous offrons des matériaux sûrs et fiables qui ne sont pas composés de mercure afin d’obtenir un sourire radieux ce, peu importe vos besoins.

Des remplissages avec amalgames ou « plombages » étaient autrefois le meilleur matériel disponible pour réparer des dents cariées ou endommagées. Ce type de remplissage a été utilisé durant plus de 100 ans, la plupart du temps efficacement, pour aider la population à sauver leurs dents. Les études des dernières décennies ont relevé des enjeux concernant des complications quant à la santé, probablement liés au mercure contenus dans les matériaux.

La dentisterie moderne a répondu à ce questionnement en offrant des matériaux de restauration dans mercure, qui offre les mêmes résultats que les matériaux utilisés précédemment. Les matériaux de céramique et de composites ont tous démontré qu’ils sont sûrs, solides et esthétiques. Les engagements envers la recherche et le développement de produits et matériaux continue d’évoluer afin d’améliorer la qualité de la dentisterie offerte à nos patients.

Un protocole a été établit au sein de Dentisterie Aylmer qui vise à protéger les patients et le personnel lors de l’ablation d’une obturation en amalgame. Le protocole inclut les précautions suivantes:

  • 1. emploi de la digue et de la succion rapide pendant le fraisage
  • 2. utilisation abondante d’eau en aérosol pendant le fraisage
  • 3. coupe de l’amalgame en sections plutôt qu’une pulvérisation avec la fraise
  • 4. rinçage abondant de la bouche et des instruments immédiatement après l’ablation de l’amalgame.

Pour les très rares patients démontrant une hypersensibilité à l’amalgame dentaire, nous recommandons également les précautions suivantes:

  • 1. bilan de santé complet
  • 2. complément alimentaire spécifique
  • 3. ulilisation d’un ionisateur et/ou d’un purificateur d’air dans la salle opératoire
  • 4. source d’air pur au nez du patient pendant le fraisage.

Ces précautions servent à minimiser l’absorption de vapeur de mercure par le patient pendant et après le fraisage.